Treatment

Since about 2004 i watch very little television. I don’t have one at home and i don’t miss it. However, when i am at homes which do have one, i can hardly take my eyes off it when it’s on. That’s probably a good reason not to have one at home.

It doesn’t mean that everything on the TV is crap. I noticed that some Israeli drama series are pretty good. The stories are very humane and many of the actors are genuinely talented.

So i am quite proud to hear that an American TV network bought the rights for the fourth Israeli television script to be adapted for American TV. First there was In Treatment, the American version of Betipul. I haven’t watched any of them, but many other people did. Now, according to ynet, there are three more: Mesudarim and Merkhak Negia and The Ex List, which don’t yet have an article in the English Wikipedia.

So yay—Hebrew TV drama joins Hebrew rock n’ roll as one of the greatest achievements of Zionism.

One thought on “Treatment

  1. The professional translator in me is still squirming about בטיפול- I really thought they should have gone for “In Therapy” as the title for the American version. Although I understand the argument for the other, too… I can hope they’ll make me squirm less with the other series, but that’s unlikely!

    I left Facebook, btw. It was making me anxious! Please keep letting me know about your upcoming gigs, tho…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.