On Normalcy

A sign that Israel is becoming normal: After a few years of drought, there are a lot of foreign gigs lately. Devendra Banhart and Blonde Redhead are coming soon – not to mention Depeche Mode and Roger Waters.

3 Responses to “On Normalcy”


  1. 1 MeahevServi 2006-06-12 at 19:20

    Depeche Mode? Roger Waters? o_O

    Zahava Ben rulez, man! :D

  2. 2 Amir 2006-06-12 at 22:13

    You scare me – not with your musical taste, which is legitimate, but with your knowledge of Israel.

    When you first wrote me, i thought that you are an Israeli in disguise, but you have your own blog in Serbian, so i guess that you are not.

    But why do you write in Latin script? I thought that Serbs were proud of writing in Cyrillic. If i was a Serb, i’d prefer to write in Cyrillic. But maybe it has something to do with the fact that my own mother tongue is Russian …

    Actually Zahava Ben has a beautiful voice, but she falls prey for terrible songwriters and producers. She released one great album though, where she sings Umm Kulthum songs with an authentic Arabic orchestra.

    rhssl

  3. 3 MeahevServi 2006-06-13 at 10:17

    Hehe. :) You’ve made me smile. :)

    From my knowledge of contemporary Serbia and Serbians, I’d say, if you were one of us here, most likely you wouldn’t care about the script you write. Because, that’s how it is in Serbia now. Very few people care about Cyrillic script. That’s sad, bat true….

    But, the main reason I write in Latin script is because I’m a Serbian refugee from Croatia, I was born in Croatia, I grew up there, and now I’m to much used to write Latin script. Not to mention I’m a lazy bastard who cannot force himself to switch scripts.

    You should never underestimate the power of bad habits. :(

    About Zahava Ben… That was kinda joke. I like her, but not to much. Just a few songs – “Haya bischvilcha”, “Melech amiti”, “Ani shata”, “Or yom choref shimshi”… I don’t know if you have heard of them. Thay may have stupid verses, but there’s a lot of HEART and SOUL in them, and that’s what counts.

    You can find more about my misic taste at:

    http://www.last.fm/user/MeahevServi

    Also, you are welcome to visit my site and drop a few lines, if you like:

    http://www.bsg-serbia.cankoo.com/bsg

    Пока! :D


Leave a Reply

Archives


