Collegiate

My number one favorite dictionary of all time is Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate. I often read it for fun. I don’t think that there is a single page in it that i have never opened. Its consistency is uncompromising. Its completeness and attention to detail are remarkable. Its definitions are so precise, that you could take nearly any word in an English text, replace it with the definition from Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate, and the meaning of the text would remain virtually intact.

But! Apparently i didn’t know how to pronounce the word “Collegiate” correctly. I though that it’s \ˈkä-lē-jət\, like “college” – \ˈkä-lij\. Apparently it’s \kə-ˈlē-jət\.

Damn it.


(N.B. In this entry i used M-W’s own pronunciation symbols and not IPA.)

2 Responses to “Collegiate”


  1. 1 Shlomi Fish 2008-03-24 at 22:33

    Really? You like Merriam-Websters’ Collegiate dictionary? I have a slightly old version of it at home, and my gripe with it (and with m-w.com) is that its definitions are often hard to understand and confuse me. As a general rule, I find the Oxford Advanced Learner’s Dictionary (which I also have at home) much better in this regard.

    BTW, can we get a preview button (or a dynamic preview feature) to the commenting on this blog? This way I can make sure my comments are correct.

  2. 2 aharoni 2008-03-24 at 22:42

    I love it. I found only one mistake in it: The city of Ulyanovsk in Russia is still called Ulyanovsk, and its name wasn’t changed to Simbirsk in 1991. They were a little too quick to think that Russia completely threw away its communist past. But that’s in the geography part.

    In comparison, i can find problems in Even Shoshan on every page.

    Oxford is great, but somehow my heart belongs to M-W.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,873 other followers

