English Poetry

Hadar asked me to entertain her.

So i read aloud lyrics from Neil Young’s Zuma to her. No music – just recited poetry.

They are quite beautiful to read aloud. Try it.

It’s really fine poetry. Simple to understand, rhymes well. It’s something with which people can easily identify. Hadar said that she didn’t realize that he writes songs about love, too. Me neither.

I sincerely hope that these lyrics will be studied in English classes everywhere. The English language deserves it.

3 Responses to “English Poetry”


  1. 1 PP 2007-08-14 at 14:00

    Always a good plan: But you have to be careful which songs you choose: Kylie Minogue, for example, doesn’t work so well ;-)

    And (LeHavdil) neither does Tori Amos.

  2. 2 aharoni 2007-08-14 at 14:18

    It’s funny that you mention Kylie, because she inspired me to do it: I heard that she recited “I Should Be So Lucky” in an evening poetry in the Royal Albert Hall.

    My Hadar loves Tori (we saw her in Ra’anana, too). Hmm … I guess that you are right: I tried reciting a few of her songs in my head and they really don’t work without the melody.

  3. 3 PP 2007-08-15 at 15:27

    Gracious- I remember that too- she did indeed! (which was quite rude, thinking about it, being as she didn’t even write the words… )

    I was at the Tori Ra’anana concert too. Best form I’ve ever seen her… and I’ve seen her a lot!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,872 other followers

